#StarWars VII -I Feel a Great Disturbance in the Force

Lucas[1]

   Ever since it was first announced, Star Wars Episode VII has been a huge topic. There have been news, rumors and reports of actors being sought for roles in the upcoming film. Not just actors but big name actors. Now this is a far cry from the humble beginnings of the very first film. As a matter of fact this is diametrically opposed to the philosophy of that original production. Sure, Star Wars, now known as “A New Hope”, had two heavyweights to bring a bit of gravitas to the film by way of Sir Alec Guinness and Peter Cushing. Those two were not the whole film, they were icing on the cake. I fear that these new films will be all about the icing and not much cake. Star power seems to be the rule and not the exception. This worries me.

   I am sure that the movies will be great. Well I am 72% sure 😉