Marvel & DC in 2015 a.k.a. Old is the new New

 

 So I’ve been sort of quiet on the whole Marvel happenings of next year. You know… the constant barrage of old events being repackaged and re-released in 2015. I was trying to keep an open mind about the whole thing. That it I was trying until DC announced that they are doing the EXACT SAME THING.

   Now I realize that in 75 (plus) years that new and fresh ideas are becoming more difficult to come up with. I also see that the need to kill off and bring back dead characters is a necessary, if overused, trope in the industry. Having said that I can’t see where replaying every single significant, and even the unpopular, events is going to make for good reads. Sure it will attract collectors with the nostalgia factor and some are already dog-eared for my pull list, but it just seems like another “re-brand, reboot and/or renumber” gimmick.

   So what do I want out of my comics? Am I looking for the status quo or days gone by? Stability of solid stories with or without an eye trained on continuity? Crazy stories that push the envelope? I really can’t say. I just want Comics to make me go “Whoa!” and then make me want to re-read them and chomp at the bit to get my hands on the next issue.  There are events in the past that would be cool to revisit in a new light, behind the scenes or a rest of the story story, but all of them? This is “Go big or go home” style business… I just want “Go be consistent” 😉

   I’ll definitely take some more Secret Wars, Crisis on Infinite Earths, and JLA vs Avengers (this last one won’t happen).

Please Leave a Reply

