By the Eye of Agamotto! Strange Days, Indeed

Nope

Obviously designed by a fan of the old Flash Gordon serials of the 1930's.
Obviously designed by a fan of the old Flash Gordon serials of the 1930’s.

   Dr. Strange was a 1978 TV film pilot based on the Marvel’s Dr. Stephen Strange, created by Steve Ditko. Directed by Philip DeGuere, authored by him as well, it was specifically written for television. It seems that the production suffered from being over conservative and under funded.  Stan Lee served as a consultant on the film, but that couldn’t save this proposed pilot for a series. In a day and age where VFX were not up to snuff (until one George Lucas pushed them beyond their limits), and removing the more “comic booky” elements from the property.  The show aired on 6 Sept, 1978 on CBS. That network also aired The Amazing Spider-Man and The Incredible Hulk. Out of the three, only the Hulk proved to have any staying power.

   I remember staying up to watch Dr. Strange but it failed to hold my interest. I tried watching it again, and it failed to hold my interest. Some may still like it and there is nothing wrong with that. To each their own. It didn’t/doesn’t work for me. Having said this, I dig the character’s concept and a few executions of this concept really worked for me in the books. I think Ditko’s version was the best but I am biased 😉

   So now the new movie is going to be made with Benedict Cumberbatch as Stephen Strange. I cannot wait to see what crazy shit Marvel Studios has in store for us!

Please Leave a Reply

