5 Comic Book Titles that will be taking me into 2016

5 books 2016

   Nothing against other companies, I am a mainly a DC & Marvel guy. Money is always tight so limits need to be observed so I stick with the big two. Having said that, most of what those two are putting out has not been to my liking. Just not my sort of thing. The up side is that I don’t spend my hard earned credits on the titles that I am no longer into. Now back up until my final days of actual collecting (physical issues) I would stick it out and buy everything. Well, no longer. 

   Here are the handful of books that I look forward to. These are not my normal fare. I usually am into the straight forward stuff but it’s getting old and I am expecting more out of stories as I also get older. There are other one off issues or specials that I’ve picked up but these are the five issues that I plan on regularly reading.

  1. Superman: Lois and Clark

Superman - Lois & Clark (2015)

   Following the epic events of CONVERGENCE, here are the adventures of the last sons and daughter of the Krypton and Earth as they try to survive in a world not their own. But can they keep this world from suffering the same fate as their own? Can this Superman stop the villains he once fought before they are created on this world? What is Intergang, and why does Lois’s discovery of it place everyone she loves in jeopardy? What will happen when their nine-year-old son learns the true identity of his parents? Make way for the original power couple, for better, for worse, in sickness and in health, until death do them part!

2. The Ultimates

Ultimates (2015)

   BLACK PANTHER! CAPTAIN MARVEL! MS. AMERICA CHAVEZ! SPECTRUM! BLUE MARVEL! The ultimate super team  comes together to find and fix problems beyond the limits of the infinite! From cosmic forces lurking on Earth to what waits on the outside of the omniverse – the impossible is where they start! And what’s more impossible than ending the threat of Galactus, the devourer of worlds… forever?

3. Howling Commandos of S.H.I.E.L.D.

Howling Commandos of SHIELD

   Hidden deep beneath AREA 13 lies the clandestine headquarters of S.T.A.K.E.–a top secret division of S.H.I.E.L.D. housing aliens, mythical beasts, and all manner of extra-normal entities. Under the command of legendary soldier DUM DUM DUGAN, these monsters step out of the shadows and defend the world against supernatural threats too dangerous for normal men as THE ALL-NEW, ALL-DIFFERENT HOWLING COMMANDOS OF S.H.I.E.L.D.!

4. Robin War

Robin-War-001-(2016)

   Damian Wayne returns to Gotham City, and he is not happy. There are kids all over the city calling themselves Robin, Bruce Wayne is no longer Batman and the GCPD, led by the new, armored-up Batman, is cracking down on anybody wearing the “R.” And things only get worse when Red Hood, Red Robin and Grayson all come back to Gotham City…

5. Squadron Supreme

Squadron Supreme (2015)

   They’ve survived the destruction of their worlds and now they won’t let their new home suffer the same fate—no matter what it takes.

Honorable Mention: Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat!

Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat! (2015-) 001-000

   OK, I’ve just finished a copy of this and it is really fun. A comic book that is fun to read? No way! Yes way.

   PATSY WALKER has managed to escape her past, her enemies and Hell itself (literally), but nothing compares to job hunting in New York City! Between trying to make rent and dodging (literal) bullets, Patsy barely has time to deal with her mother’s exploitative romance comics about her childhood resurfacing, much less how they start to interfere with her work and dating life. As she goes from living a double life to a triple, what the Hell is Patsy Walker supposed to do? Raise your (literal) claws for PATSY WALKER, AKA HELLCAT!